Northwestern Chemistry

Summer 2019 Chemistry Newsletter

From the Chair



Summer is finally here! As a community, the Department has had a strong finish to the year. Our undergraduate majors were recognized with numerous awards, and I had the honor of passing on congratulations at my first Weinberg Convocation as Chair. Our graduate students continue to excel in scholarship and in their outreach events. Our postdoctoral fellows have received some of the nation's most prestigious honors. Also, we were just named as one of the top 10 institutions for Chemistry worldwide in the Nature Index. Enjoy the latest happenings!

Spotlights



Faculty: Emily A. Weiss

Emily, Mark and Nancy Ratner Professor of Chemistry, is currently focused on finding a way to make excited state colloidal nanoparticles (energized by light) behave like enzymes... specifically, to do multiple sequential catalytic reactions with high selectivity. **Read more**.



Student: Waleed Helweh

Waleed, a graduate student in the Chen Lab, is from Casablanca, Morocco. After finishing high school in Morocco, he decided to pursue a liberal arts education at Middlebury College in Vermont. In his spare time, he likes to cook, bake, and explore Chicago with his friends. **Read more**.



Alumnus: Weiwei Wang

Weiwei ('18 Thomson Alum) is from Nanjing, China and went to Kalamazoo College for undergraduate studies. Today, she is a scientist at Corteva. Her advice to current graduate students is to take advantage of the recruiting events at Northwestern. Weiwei attended our Industrial Associates Event in May. **Read more**.



Staff: Christos Malliakas

Christos joined IMSERC facility in January 2016 as an X-Ray Crystallography specialist, a few months ago was promoted to Research Associate Professor. Christos has extensive experience in non-classical crystallographic techniques such as incommensurate modulated structure and total scattering diffraction methods. Read more.

Recent Honors and Awards



The AAAFM-Nakamura Award (named after the Nobel Prize winner Shuji Nakamura) is a prestigious prize conferred on an outstanding, dynamic researcher who has made significant contributions and whose work shows exceptional innovation in the field of functional material. Congratulations to **Chad Mirkin** (left) and **John Rogers** (right) who both received the inaugural AAAFM-Nakamura Award.



Student and Postdoctoral Awards

Undergraduate Awards Presentation by Professor Fred Northrup



Congratulations to Nick Chen, Jeremiah Kim, Daniella Lewittes, Sherry Li, Nathan LeSage, Max Sigal, Kali Williams, and Ted Zhang. (Wan Chen Phua, Joshua Tabuena, and Leighton Zhao were not able to attend the awards presentation).



Cassandra Callmann (Gianneschi alum and Mirkin postdoc) was named a **2019 CAS Future Leader**.



Julie Fenton (Dichtel Lab) was selected for the 2019 Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Congratulations to Chemistry Major students **Jeremiah Kim, Daniella Lewittes, Yishan LI, Kali Williams**, and **Leighton Zhao**, who graduated with Honors.

Events

Marple-Schweitzer Memorial Lecture

On 22 May 2019, **PLU** hosted their annual Marple-Schweitzer Lecture and Awards Ceremony. Following opening remarks presented by PLU President, Agnes Thorarinsdottir, outstanding undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for excellence in teaching, research and departmental service.

Afterwards, Professor Karen L. Wooley, W. T. Doherty-Welch Chair in Chemistry at Texas A&M University, gave a lecture on her research titled "Natural Product-Based Polymers that Address Health-Food-Energy-Water-Challenges", where she highlighted her group's strategies in designing polymers that can impact global needs and be employed to address some of these grand challenges. Her talk was well received and many attendees joined a reception on Tech Patio directly following her talk.



From left: Karen L. Wooley and Agnes Thorarinsdottir.

STEM Symposium



From left: Rebecca Rasmussen, Sara Hernández-Saborit, Corinne Moss-Racusin, Sylvia Perry, Alexandra Brumberg, Stephanie Knezz, Shaunna McLeod, Lauren Woods, Natalia Powers-Riggs, and Emma Coughlin.

On 7 June 2019, **WISER** hosted their annual Spring Symposium, this year focused on Implicit Bias in STEM. The symposium featured Professor Corinne Moss-Racusin as the keynote speaker, a psychologist from Skidmore Colege whose research areas broadly include stereotyping processes, gender roles, and diversity science, especially as those topics apply to the STEM disciplines.

The afternoon started with an interactive workshop, where participants used discussion and role play to explore gender bias in STEM. The workshop was followed by a panel discussion on diversity and implicit bias in the academic community. Professor Moss-Racusin wrapped up the day with her keynote talk "Understanding & Reducing Gender Bias in STEM" where attendees learned about her research and interventions such as VIDS to help reduce bias and promote retention and belonging of all genders in STEM.

WISER is grateful for the support from The Graduate School, the McCormick School of Engineering, the Northwestern Department of Chemistry, the Office of Institutional Diversity and Inclusion, NU BonD, and GSA that made this event possible.

HerStory

HerStory is an annual outreach event for middle and high school girls in the Chicago area who are interested in STEM. During our spring event, students participate in a "scavenger hunt" around the Museum of Science and Industry where each clue leads them to learn about a famous woman who has made a significant contribution to the history of STEM (hence, HerStory). The aim of this event is to encourage and empower young girls, specifically from minority backgrounds, to fearlessly pursue STEM careers. We hope that in empowering the generations coming behind us, the representation of all identities in STEM will continue to diversify.

HerStory was founded by graduate students at Northwestern and is now run by graduate students at both Northwestern and the University of Chicago. For more information about HerStory, contact directors Meghan Ward (NU Chemistry, meghanward2022@u.northwestern.edu) and Jill Rosenberg (UC Biological Sciences Division, jnrosenberg@uchicago.edu), or visit the **website**.



Graduation



Faculty, postdocs, and students at TGS Hooding Ceremony on Thursday, 20 June 2019 (upper left) and Weinberg Convocation Ceremony on Saturday, 22 June (upper right, lower left, and lower right).



Chemistry Department held a reception to celebrate graduates and their families on Friday, 21 June 2019.

Press

Northwestern Chemistry is in the Nature Index top 10 institutions for chemistry worldwide.

Rosenzweig and Hoffman's research on methane-consuming bacteria could be the future of fuel.

Core facility experts, researchers gather to exchange best practices in preclinical imaging.

C&EN highlights the contributions of "catalysis superhero" Professor Vladimir Ipatieff.

Olvera de la Cruz and Mirkin's discovery will lead to new methods for materials design.

From the Archives



Department of Chemistry Faculty in Spring 1969

From left:

First row: Fred Stafford, Paul Loach, Robert Letsinger, Arthur Frost, Irving Klotz, Brian Hoffman, Robert Burwell, Jr., and Charles Hurd.

Second row: Robert Loyd, Donald DeFord, Frank Neuhaus, Duward Shriver, Donald Smith, Ralph Pearson, Louis Allred, David Shemin, Myron Bender, Joseph Lambert, and Joel Meyer.

Third row: Allen Hussey, Joseph Lester, Herman Pines, Sighart Fischer, Laszlo Lorand, Claude Lucchesi, James Ibers, Curtis Borchers, and L. Carroll King.

Give to Chemistry Latest Chemistry News Alumni Update Form



