Skip to main content

Joseph T. Hupp


B.S.: Houghton College 1979
Ph.D.: Michigan State University 1983


Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry

Research Statement

We make and study molecular materials and supramolecular assemblies. Some are designed to help us understand fundamental aspects of molecular recognition, directed assembly, light harvesting and directional energy transport, and electron transfer reactivity. Others are designed to exploit these phenomena to solve problems involving solar energy conversion, chemical fuel storage and release, chemical sensing, molecular transport and chemical separations, or selective catalysis.

Selected Publications

“Selective surface and near-surface modification of a non-catenated, catalytically active metal-organic framework material based on Mn(salen) struts,” A. Shultz, O. Farha, D. Adhikari, A. Sarjeant, J. Hupp, S. Nguyen, Inorg. Chem., 2011, 50, 3174-3176.

“A ‘click-based’ porous organic polymer from tetrahedral building blocks,” J. T. Hupp, et al., J. Mater. Chem., 21, 2011,1700-1703. Highlighted in Angew. Chem.

“SiO2 Aerogel-Templated, Porous TiO2 Photoanodes for Enhanced Performance in Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells Containing a Ni(III)/(IV) Bis(dicarbollide) Shuttle,” T. C. Li,F. Fabregat-Santiago, O. K. Farha, A. M. Spokoyny, S. Ruiz, J. Bisquert, C. A. Mirkin, T. J. Marks, and J. T. Hupp, J. Phys. Chem. C, 2011, 115, 11257-11264.

“Active-Site-Accessible, Porphyrinic Metal-Organic Framework Materials,” O. K. Farha, A. M. Shultz, A. A. Sarjeant, S. T. Nguyen, and J. T. Hupp, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2011, 133, 5652–5655.

“Enhancement of CO2/CH4 Selectivity in Metal-Organic Frameworks Containing Lithium Cations,” Y-S. Bae, B. Hauser, R. Q. Snurr, and J. T. Hupp, Micro. Meso. Mater. 2011, 141, 231-235.

“Synthesis of catalytically active porous organic polymers from metalloporphyrin building blocks,” S. T. Nguyen, A. Shultz, O. Farha, J. Hupp, Chem. Sci. 2011, 2, 686-689. .

“A Convenient Route to High Area, Nanoparticulate TiO2 Photoelectrodes Suitable for High-efficiency Energy Conversion in Dye-sensitized Solar Cells,” N. C. Jeong, O. Farha, J. T. Hupp, Langmuir, 2011, 27, 1996-1999. Highlighted in DOE’s national newsletter for its Energy Frontier Research Center program

“Evaluation of a Robust, Diimide-based, Porous Organic Polymer (POP) as a High-Capacity Sorbent for Representative Chemical Threats,” G. W. Peterson, O. K. Farha, B. Schindler, P. Jones, J. Mahle and J. T. Hupp, J. Porous Mater., 2011, Published online. 

“Kinetic Separation of Propene and Propane in Metal-Organic Frameworks: Controlling Diffusion Rates in Plate-Shaped Crystals via Tuning of Pore Apertures and Crystallites Aspect Ratios,” C. Y. Lee, Y-S Bae, N. C. Jeong, O. Farha, A. Sarjeant, C. Stern, P. Nickias, R. Snurr, J. T. Hupp, S. Nguyen, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2011, 133, 5228-5231. 

“From Layered Structures to Cubic Frameworks: Expanding the Structural Diversity of Uranyl Carboxyphosphonates via the Incorporation of Cobalt,” A. N. Alsobrook, B. G. Hauser, J. T. Hupp, E. V. Alekseev, W. Depmeier, T. E. Albrecht-Schmitt, Crystal Growth & Design, 2011, 11, 1385-1393.

“Porous Organic Polymers (POPs) in Catalysis - Opportunities and Challenges,” P. Kaur, J. T. Hupp, S. T. Nguyen, ACS Catalysis, 2011,1, 819-835.

“Luminescent infinite coordination polymer materials from metal-terpyridine ligation,” I. Eryazici, O. K. Farha, O. C. Compton, C. Stern, J. T. Hupp and S. T. Nguyen, Dalton Trans., 2011, 40, 9189-9193. 

“Large-Scale Screening of Hypothetical Metal-Organic Frameworks,” C. E. Wilmer, M. Leaf, C. Y. Lee, O. K. Farha, B. G. Hauser, J. T. Hupp and R. Q. Snurr, Nature Chem. 2011, accepted, DOI: 10.1038/nchem.1192. Highlighted by Chemical & Engineering New and by Chemistry World

“Post-synthesis modification of a metal-organic framework to form metallosalen-containing MOF materials,” A. Shultz, A. A. Sarjeant, O. K. Farha, J. T. Hupp, S. T. Nguyen, , J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133, 13252-13255. Highlighted by Science (August 26, 2011)

“High Propene/Propane Selectivity in Isostructural Metal-Organic Frameworks with High Densities of Open Metal Sites,” Y-S. Bae, C. Y. Lee, K. C. Kim, O. K. Farha, P. Nickias, J. T. Hupp, S. T. Nguyen, R. Q. Snurr, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, Published online. doi: 10.1002/ange.201107534

“Enhanced Electrocatalytic Reduction of CO2 with Ternary Ni-Fe4S4 and Co-Fe4S4-based Biomimetic Chalcogels,” B. Yuhas, C. Prasittichai, J. Hupp, M. Kanatzidis, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133,15854-15857.

“Light-Harvesting Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs): Efficient Strut-to-Strut Energy Transfer in Bodipy and Porphyrin-based MOFs,” C. Y. Lee, O. K. Farha, B. J. Hong, A. A. Sarjeant, S. T. Nguyen, J. T. Hupp, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2011, 133, 15858-15861.

“Metal-Adeninate Vertices for the Construction of an Exceptionally Porous Metal-Organic Framework,” J. An, O. K. Farha, J. T. Hupp, E. Pohl, J. Yeh, and N. L. Rosi, Nature Comm. 2011, in press. Featured Image

“Imparting Functionality to a Metal-Organic Framework Material by Controlled Encapsulation of Nanoparticles,” G. Lu, S. Li, 

“Photocurrent-Enhancement by Surface Plasmon Resonance of Silver Nanoparticles in Highly Porous Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells,” N. C. Jeong, C. Prasittichai, J. T. Hupp, Langmuir, 2011, 14609-14614. 

“Two Azolium Rings are Better than One: A Strategy for Modulating Catenation and Pore Size in Zn and Cu Metal-Organic Frameworks,” J. M. Roberts, O. K. Farha, A. A. Sarjeant, J. T. Hupp, K. A. Scheidt, Cryst. Growth & Design, 2011, 11, 4747–4750. 

Selected Honors/Awards

  • The Electrochemical Society Allen J. Bard Award, 2023.
  • Clarivate Analytics/Thomson-Reuters ISI “Highly Cited Researcher”, 2014- 2022
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2021
  • Phi Lambda Upsilon Lecturer, Dept. of Chemistry, Kansas State University, 2019.
  • Neckers Lecturer, Dept. of Chemistry, Southern Illinois University, 2019.
  • George S. Hammond Award, Inter-American Photochemical Society, 2019.
  • Fellow of the Materials Research Society, 2016.
  • Fellow of the American Chemical Society, 2015.
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2014
  • Stephanie L. Kwolek Award, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2014.
  • Hoffman Lecturer, Florida State University, 2014.
  • Charles N. Reilly Award, Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry, 2014.
  • International Award, Japan Society for Coordination Chemistry, 2013.
  • ACS Award in Electrochemistry, 2012.
  • Griffith Memorial Lecturer, University of New Orleans, 2012.
  • Coats Lecturer, University of Wyoming, 2012.
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012.
  • Gomberg Lecturer, University of Michigan, 2011.
  • Kolthoff Lecturer, University of Minnesota, 2011.
  • Houghton College Alumnus of the Year, 2010.
  • Distinguished Alumni Lecturer, Michigan State University, 2010.
  • H. H. King Lecturer, Kansas State University, 2008.
  • “Outstanding Research Achievement Award” for the 2008 DTRA Chem-Bio Defense Conference.
  • IAPS Award of the Inter-American Photochemical Society, 2007.
  • David C. Grahame Award, Electrochemical Society, 2007.
  • Carl Wagner Memorial Award, Electrochemical Society, 2005.
  • Morrison Professorship, 2000-present. Dow Professorship, 1998-2000.
  • National Fresenius Award of Phi Lambda Upsilon, 1993.
  • Henry and Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, 1991-96.
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 1990-92.
  • Atlantic Richfield Foundation Junior Faculty Fellow, 1986-87.
  • NSF Presidential Young Investigator, 1986-91.
  • Sohio Graduate Fellowship, Michigan State University, 1982.