Skip to main content

Mercouri Kanatzidis


B.S.: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki 1979
Ph.D.: University of Iowa 1984


Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry

Argonne National Laboratory

Research Statement

Inorganic chemistry, solid state and coordination chemistry of chalcogenide compounds. Design of new materials, exploratory synthesis, thermoelectric materials, nanostructured materials, intermetallics, mesoporous semiconductors, phase-change materials, conducting polymers, intercalation chemistry applications of new materials.

Selected Publications

"Strong Valence Band Convergence to Enhance Thermoelectric Performance in PbSe with Two Chemically Independent Controls", Luo, Z. Z.; Cai, S. T.; Hao, S. Q.; Bailey, T. P.; Spanopoulos, I.; Luo, Y. B.; Xu, J. W.; Uher, C.; Wolverton, C.; Dravid, V. P.; Yan, Q. Y.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Angewandte Chemie-International Edition 2021, 60 (1), 268-273, DOI: 10.1002/anie.202011765 

“CsPbBr3 perovskite detectors with 1.4% energy resolution for high-energy gamma-rays”, He, Y. H.; Petryk, M.; Liu, Z. F.; Chica, D. G.; Hadar, I.; Leak, C.; Ke, W. J.; Spanopoulos, I.; Lin, W. W.; Chung, D. Y.; Wessels, B. W.; He, Z.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Nature Photonics 202115, (1) 36–42, DOI: 10.1038/s41566-020-00727-1. 

“Inorganic Halide Perovskitoid TlPbI3 for Ionizing Radiation Detection”, Lin, W. W.; He, J. G.; McCall, K. M.; Stoumpos, C. C.; Liu, Z. F.; Hadar, I.; Das, S.; Wang, H. H.; Wang, B. X.; Chung, D. Y.; Wessels, B. W.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Advanced Functional Materials 2021 2006635, DOI: 10.1002/admf.202006635. 

“Sn4-δ B12Se12 [Qx] , Q = Se, Te, a B12 Cluster Tunnel Framework Hosting Neutral Chalcogen Chains”, Chica, D. G.; Spanopoulos, I.; Hao, S. Q.; Wolverton, C.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Chemistry of Materials 2021, 33 (5), 1723-1730, DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemmater.0c04503.  

“The 2D Halide Perovskite Rulebook: How the Spacer Influences Everything from the Structure to Optoelectronic Device Efficiency”, Li, X. T.; Hoffman, J. M.; Kanatzidis, M. G., Chemical Reviews 2021, 121 (4), 2230-2291, DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemrev.0c01006. 

“Mechanistic insight of KBiQ2 (Q = S, Se) using panoramic synthesis towards synthesis-by-design”, McClain, R.; Malliakas, C. D.; Shen, J. H.; He, J. G.; Wolverton, C.; Gonzalez, G. B.; Kanatzidis, M. G., Chemical Science 2021, 12 (4), 1378-1391, DOI: 10.1039/d0sc04562d. 

"Efficient Removal of Cs+ and Sr2+ Ions by Granulous (Me2NH2)4/3 (Me3NH)2/3Sn3S7 1.25H2O/Polyacrylonitrile Composite”, Li, J. L.; Jin, J. C.; Zou, Y. M.; Sun, H. Y.; Zeng, X.; Huang, X. Y.; Feng, M. L.; Kanatzidis, M. G.ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces 2021, 13 (11), 13434-13442, DOI: 10.1021/acsami.1c01983.

“Ultralow Thermal Conductivity in Diamondoid Structures and High Thermoelectric Performance in (Cu1-x Agx)(In(1-y)Gay)Te-2”, Xie, H. Y.; Hao, S. Q.; Bailey, T. P.; Cai, S. T.; Zhang, Y. Y.; Slade, T. J.; Snyder, G. J.; Dravid, V. P.; Uher, C.; Wolverton, C.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Journal of the American Chemical Society 2021, 143 (15), 5978-5989, DOI: 10.1021/jacs.1c01801.  

“Tunable Broad Light Emission from 3D "Hollow" Bromide Perovskites through Defect Engineering”, Spanopoulos, I.; Hadar, I.; Ke, W. J.; Guo, P. J.; Mozur, E. M.; Morgan, E.; Wang, S. X.; Zheng, D.; Padgaonkar, S.; Reddy, G. N. M.; Weiss, E. A.; Hersam, M. C.; Seshadri, R.; Schaller, R. D.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Journal of the American Chemical Society 2021, 143 (18), 7069-7080. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.1c01727.  

"Efficient Removal of Cs+ and Sr2+ Ions by Granulous (Me2NH2)4/3(Me3NH)2/3Sn3S7 . 1.25H2O/Polyacrylonitrile Composite,” Li, J. L.; Jin, J. C.; Zou, Y. M.; Sun, H. Y.; Zeng, X.; Huang, X. Y.; Feng, M. L.; Kanatzidis, M. G.ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces 2021, 13 (11), 13434-13442, DOI: 10.1021/acsami.1c01983.  

“Defect engineering in thermoelectric materials: what have we learned?”, Zheng, Y.; Slade, T. J.; Hu, L.; Tan, X. Y.; Luo, Y. B.; Luo, Z. Z.; Xu, J. W.; Yan, Q. Y.; Kanatzidis, M. G.Chemical Society Reviews, 2021, DOI: 10.1039/d1cs00347j. 

Selected Honors/Awards

  • Highly Cited Researcher, Clarivate Analytics, 2019 
  •  DOE Ten at Ten Award in the category Scientific Ideas, 2019
  • Chemical Pioneer Award, American Institute of Chemists, 2018
  • Honorary Doctorate Degree, University of Crete, 2017
  • Hershel and Hilda Rich Visiting Professorship, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, 2017
  • ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry, 2016
  • American Physical Society 2016 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
  • APS Fellow, 2016
  • Samson Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation in Alternative Fuels for Transportation, 2016
  • Royal Chemical Society DeGennes Prize 2015
  • Elected Fellow of the Royal Chemical Society 2015
  • ENI Award for the "Renewable Energy Prize" category, 2015
  • Wilhelm Manchot Research Professorship, 2015
  • Einstein Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2014
  • MRS Medal 2014
  • International Thermoelectric Society Outstanding Achievement Award 2014
  • Cheetham Lecturer Award, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
  • AAAS Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012
  • MRS Fellow, Materials Research Society, 2010
  • Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor, Northwestern University, 2006
  • Alexander von Humboldt Prize, 2003
  • Morley Medal, American Chemical Society, Cleveland Section, 2003
  • John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellow, 2002
  • University Distinguished Professor MSU, 2001
  • Sigma Xi 2000 Senior Meritorious Faculty Award
  • Michigan State University Distinguished Faculty Award, 1998
  • Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar, 1993-1998
  • Beckman Young Investigator, 1992-1994
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 1991-1993
  • ACS Inorganic Chemistry Division Award, EXXON Faculty Fellowship in Solid State Chemistry, 1990
Back to top