Skip to main content

Ted Sargent


B.Sc.Eng.: Queen’s University
Ph.D.: University of Toronto


Lynn Hopton Davis and Greg Davis Professor

Co-Executive Director, Paula M. Trienens Institute for Sustainability and Energy

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Research Statement

We advance and deploy ever-increased understanding of materials chemistry and the physical chemistry of materials and surfaces towards three missions:
  1. Capturing and utilizing CO2 in order to make efficient CO2-recycling fuels and CO2-sequestering materials.
  2. Advancing the performance and the underlying science of high-efficiency solar cells, including perovskite tandem solar cells.
  3. Developing sensors, such as for the UV and infrared wavelengths, that exceed in performance that of existing photodetecting materials and devices.

We rely on computational materials science and computational chemistry; AI/ML; the inorganic and hybrid organic-inorganic materials synthesis, physical chemistry, as well as applied physics, in the pursuit of these goals.

Selected Publications

G. Konstantatos, I. Howard, A. Fischer, S. Hoogland, J. Clifford, E. Klem, L. Levina, E. H. Sargent. “Ultrasensitive solution-cast quantum dot photodetectors.” Nature, 2006, 442, 180-183.

V. Sukhovatkin, S. Hinds, L. Brzozowski, E. H. Sargent. “Colloidal Quantum-Dot Photodetectors Exploiting Multiexciton Generation.” Science, 2009, 324, 1542-1544.

Z. Ning, X. Gong, R. Comin, G. Walters, F. Fan, O. Voznyy, E. Yassitepe, A. Buin, S. Hoogland, E. H. Sargent. “Quantum-dot-in-perovskite solids.” Nature, 2015, 523, 324-328.

B. Zhang, X. Zheng, O. Voznyy, R. Comin, M. Bajdich, M. García-Melchor, L. Han, J. Xu, M. Liu, L. Zheng, F. P. García de Arquer, C. T. Dinh, F. Fan, M. Yuan, E. Yassitepe, N. Chen, T. Regier, P. Liu, Y. Li, P. De Luna, A. Janmohamed, H. L. Xin, H. Yang, A. Vojvodic, E. H. Sargent. “Homogeneously dispersed, multimetal oxygen-evolving catalysts.” Science,2016, 352, 333-337.

M. Liu, Y. Pang, B. Zhang, P. De Luna, O. Voznyy, J. Xu, X. Zheng, C. T. Dinh, F. Fan, C. Cao, F. P. García de Arquer, T. S. Safaei, A. Mepham, A. Klinkova, E. Kumacheva, T. Filleter, D. Sinton, S. O. Kelley, E. H. Sargent. “Enhanced electrocatalytic CO2 reduction via field-induced reagent concentration.” Nature, 2016. DOI:10.1038/nature19060

F. Fan, O. Voznyy, R. P. Sabatini, K. T. Bicanic, M. M. Adachi, J. R. McBride, K. R. Reid, Y. S. Park, X. Li, A. Jain, R. Quintero-Bermudez, M. Saravanapavanantham, M. Liu, M. Korkusinski, P. Hawrylak, V. I. Klimov, S. J. Rosenthal, S. Hoogland & E. H. Sargent. “Continuous-wave lasing in colloidal quantum dot solids enabled by facet-selective epitaxy.” Nature, 2017. DOI:10.1038/nature21424

V. Adinolfi, E. H. Sargent. “Photovoltage field-effect transistors.” Nature, 2017. DOI:10.1038/nature21050

H. Tan, A. Jain, O. Voznyy, X. Lan, F. Pelayo García de Arquer, J. Z. Fan, R. Quintero-Bermudez, M. Yuan, B. Zhang, Y. Zhao, F. Fan, P. Li, L. N. Quan, Y. Zhao, Z. Lu, Z. Yang, S. Hoogland, E. H. Sargent. “Efficient and stable solution-processed planar perovskite solar cells via contact passivation.” Science, 2017. DOI: 10.1126/science.aai9081

C. T. Dinh, T. Burdyny, M. G. Kibria, A. Seifitokaldani, C. M. Gabardo, F. P. G. de Arquer, A. Kiani, J. P. Edwards, P. De Luna, O. S. Bushuyev, C. Zou, R. Quintero-Bermudez, Y. Pang, D. Sinton, & E. H. Sargent. “CO2 electroreduction to ethylene via hydroxide-mediated copper catalysis at an abrupt interface.” Science, 2018. DOI: 10.1126/science.aas9100

M. Liu, Y. Chen, C. S. Tan, R. Quintero-Bermudez, A. H. Proppe, R. Munir, H. Tan, O. Voznyy, B. Scheffel, G. Walters, A. P. T. Kam, B. Sun, M. J. Choi, S. Hoogland, A. Amassian, S. O. Kelley, F. Pelayo García de Arquer, E. H. Sargent. “Lattice anchoring stabilizes solution-processed semiconductors.” Nature, 2019. DOI:10.1038/s41586-019-1239-7

F. Li, A. Thevenon, A. Rosas-Hernandez, Z. Wang, Y. Li, C. M. Gabardo, A. Ozden, C. T. Dinh, J. Li, Y. Wang, J. P. Edwards, Y. Xu, C. McCallum, L. Tao, Z. Liang, M. Luo, X. Wang, H. Li, C. P. O’Brien, C. S. Tan, D. Mam, R. Quintero-Bermudez, T. Zhuang, Y. C. Li, Z. Han, R. David Britt, D. Sinton, T. Agapie, J. C. Peters, E. H. Sargent. “Molecular tuning of CO2-to-ethylene conversion.” Nature, 2019. DOI: 10.1038/s41586-019-1782-2

Y. Hou, E. Aydin, M. De Bastiani, C. Xiao, F. H. Isikgor, D. Xue, B. Chen, H. Chen, B. Bahrami, A. H. Chowdhury, A. Johnston, S. Baek, Z. Huang, M. Wei, Y. Dong, J. Troughton, R. Jalmood, A. J. Mirabelli, T. G. Allen, E. V. Kerschaver, M. I. Saidaminov, D. Baran, Q. Qiao, K. Zhu, S. De Wolf, E. H. Sargent. “Efficient tandem solar cells with solution-processed perovskite on textured crystalline silicon.” Science, 2020. DOI:10.1126/science.aaz3691

M. Zhong, K. Tran, Y. Min, C. Wang, Z. Wang, C. T. Dinh, P. De Luna, Z. Yu, A. S. Rasouli, P. Brodersen, S. Sun, O. Voznyy, C. S. Tan, M. Askerka, F. Che, M. Liu, A. Seifitokaldani, Y. Pang, S. C. Lo, A. Ip, Z. Ulissi, E. H. Sargent. “Accelerated discovery of CO2 electrocatalysts using active machine learning.” Nature, 2020. DOI:10.1038/s41586-020-2242-8

J. E. Huang, F. Li, A. Ozden, A. S. Rasouli,F. Pelayo Garcia de Arquer, S. Liu, S. Zhang, M. Luo, X. Wang, Y. Lum, Y. Xu, K. Bertens, R. K. Miao, C. Dinh, D. Sinton, E. H. Sargent. “CO2 electrolysis to multicarbon products in strong acid.” Science, 2021. DOI: 10.1126/science.abg6582

Selected Honors/Awards

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (Fellow)
  • Royal Society of Canada (Fellow)
  • Canadian Academy of Engineering (Fellow)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (Fellow)
  • Steacie Prize (2012)
  • Killam Price in Engineering (Canada Council for the Arts, 2020)
  • Brockhouse Canada Prize (NSERC, 2016, with Prof. Shana Kelley)