Skip to main content

Richard P. Van Duyne (1945-2019)

B.S.: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 1967; Ph.D.: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 1971

In Memoriam

With great sadness, the department announces the passing of Richard (Rick) P.  Van Duyne, a core, dedicated, and passionate member of the Northwestern Chemistry family since 1971, has passed. A pioneer in the scientific community, Rick has made numerous groundbreaking discoveries and is renowned for his discovery and application of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS). Read more.

Selected Publications

“Mechanistic Studies of Pyridinium Electrochemistry: Alternative Chemical Pathways in the Presence of CO2,” A. G. Peroff, E. Weitz, and R. P. Van Duyne, Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, 18, 1578 – 1586 (2016)

“Observing Single, Heterogeneous, One-Electron Transfer Reactions,” S. Zaleski, M. F. Cardinal, J. M. Klingsporn, and R. P. Van Duyne, J. Phys. Chem. C, 119, 28226-28234 (2015)

“Probing Redox Reactions at the Nanoscale with Electrochemical Tip-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy,” D. Kurouski, M. Mattei, and R. P. Van Duyne, Nano Letters, 15, 7956-7962 (2015)

“A 2D Semiquinone Radical-Containing Microporous Magnet with Solvent-Induced Switching from Tc = 26 to 80 K,” I. Jeon, B. Negru, R. P. Van Duyne and T. David Harris, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 137, 15699-15702 (2015)

“Plasmon Mediated Electron Transport in Tip-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopic Junctions,” P. Pal, N. Jiang, M. D. Sonntag, N. Chiang, E. T. Foley, M. C. Hersam, R. P. Van Duyne, and T. Seideman, J. Phys. Chem. Letters, 6, 4210−4218 (2015)

“Evaluating Single-Molecule Stokes and Anti-Stokes SERS for Nanoscale Thermometry,” E. Pozzi, A. Zrimsek, C. Lethiec, G. Schatz, M. Hersam, and R. P. Van Duyne, J. Phys. Chem. C, 119, 21116-21124 (2015)

“Selective Crystal Growth and Structural, Optical, and Electronic Studies of Mn3Ta2O8,” K. Rickert, E. Pozzi, R. Khanal, M. Onoue, G. Trimarchi, J. Medvedeva, M. Hersam, R. P. Van Duyne, and K. Poeppelmeier, Inorg. Chem., 54, 6513-6519 (2015)

“Exploring Structure and Formation Mechanism of Amyloid Fibrils by Raman Spectroscopy: A Review,” Dmitry Kurouski, R. P. Van Duyne, and I. Lednev, Analyst, 140, 4967-4980 (2015)

“Segregation in Bimetallic Nanoparticles,” L. Peng, E. Ringe, R. P. Van Duyne, and L. D. Marks, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 17, 27940-27951 (2015)

“Strain-induced Segregation in Bimetallic Multiply-twinned Particles,” L. Peng, R.P. Van Duyne, and L. D. Marks, J. Phys. Chem. Letters, 6, 1930-1934 (2015)

“Molecular-Resolution Interrogation of a Porphyrin Monolayer by Ultrahigh Vacuum Tip-Enhanced Raman and Fluorescence Spectroscopy,” N. Chiang, N. Jiang, D. Chulhai, E. Pozzi, M. Hersam, L. Jensen, T. Seideman and R. P. Van Duyne, Nano Lett., 15, 4114-4120 (2015)

“Positional Flexibility: Syntheses and Characterization of Six Uranium Chalcogenides Related to the 2H Hexagonal Perovskite Family,” A. Mesbah, J. Prakash, J. C. Beard, E. Pozzi, M. S. Tarasenko, S. Lebègue, C. D. Malliakas, R. P. Van Duyne, and J. Ibers, Inorg. Chem, 54, 2851-2857 (2015)

“In situ Detection and Identification of Hair Dyes Using Surface-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy (SERS),” D. Kurouski and R. P. Van Duyne, Anal. Chem., 87, 2901–2906 (2015)

Selected Honors/Awards

  • Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, 2016
  • Thomson Reuters list of highly cited researchers, 2015
  • Theophilus Redwood Award, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2015
  • Thomson Reuters list of highly cited researchers, 2014
  • Charles Mann Award in Applied Raman Spectroscopy, Society of Applied Spectroscopy, 2014
  • E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy, American Chemical Society, 2014
  • Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2013
  • Fellow, Society of Applied Spectroscopy, 2013
  • Honorary Member, Society of Applied Spectroscopy, 2013
  • Sir George Stokes Award, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2013
  • Charles N. Reilley Award, Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry, 2011
  • Thomson Reuters list of top 100 chemists over the period 2000-2010 as ranked by the impact of their published research, 2011
  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2010
  • Analytical Chemistry Award, American Chemical Society, 2010
  • Bomem-Michelson Award, Coblentz Society, 2010
  • Ellis R. Lippincott Award, Optical Society of America, 2008
  • Professeur invite classe exceptionnelle – University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, 2008
  • National Science Foundation Creativity Extension Award, 2007
  • L’Oreal Art and Science of Color Prize (Silver), 2006
  • Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2004
  • The Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy, American Physical Society, 2004
  • Excellence in Surface Science Award, Surfaces in Biomaterials Foundation, 1996
  • Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, 1991
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 1985
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1983
  • Chairman, Vibrational Spectroscopy Gordon Conference, 1982
  • Fresenius Award (of Phi Lambda Upsilon), 1981
  • Coblentz Memorial Prize in Molecular Spectroscopy, 1980
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, 1974-1978
  • NASA Graduate Fellow, University of North Carolina, 1967-1971
  • Class of 1902 Research Prize, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1967